Winter Belly Dance Wonderland

It’s amazing for me to believe that January is not only over, but we’re already a week into February!  January started off and ended with many exciting events. I started a new session at Absolute Ballroom, taught new workshops at Sterling Yoga, and began working on several new choreographies including a salsa belly dance fusion piece that I performed for Salsa Fuego (http://pittsburghsalsaroundtable.com/) and will be performing later in the year with the Panther Belly Dancers at the Latin American Festival at the University of Pittsburgh. I also joined up with both Salsa Ritmo and Moquette Volante (stay posted for future projects), and managed to put in my submission for the Datura Online “DO” Belly Dance Challenge (learn a choreography from the site www.daturaonline.com and post it on youtube) learning two choreographies in very little time!

February is promising to be just as exciting! This Sunday,  I’ll be teaching a workshop on Arms and Upper Body at Sterling Yoga at 3:00PM and on February 17th, I’ll be teaching a workshop on Finger Cymbals also at Sterling Yoga at 3:00PM.  Additionally, I will be starting a new belly dance class at the Federal Building Downtown starting February 19th during the 12 PM lunch hour (http://www.mkfitness4life.com/)!

I am looking forward to performing with the Panther Belly Dancers at the University of Pittsburgh as part of their 1 Billion Rising event on February 14th at the William Pitt Union – 9:00PM, and will also be performing at the Smiling Moose on February 16th as part of Electrobelly Dance Troupe’s Gardens Show at 6:30PM. Lastly, I am thrilled to be going to Buffalo with Hakan to teach and perform on February 23-24 (http://www.thebellydanceacademy.com/bellydanceevents)!

As always, many thanks to all of my students and to everyone attending all these fantastic events!  You make it all worthwhile!  Here’s my video submission for the DO Belly Dance Challenge.  Enjoy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7xKpPUbhPF0

Leave a comment